Angelfall (Penryn and the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee

Title: Angelfall
Author:
 Susan Ee
Date Published: May 23, 2013
Publisher: Hodder and Stoughton
ISBN: 144477851X
Format: Paperback
Pages
: 326 pages
Status: Read from May 19 to 22, 2017
Goodreads’ Rating: 4.19
Buy it here: Amazon • Book Depository • Barnes & Nobles

Rating: 5/5 Stars

gs

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

mt

My knowledge about books with angels is very limited. I’ve read a few but none of them are like this! Why didn’t I read this sooner? The story and the characters are just … phew. 70

This book is a m a z i n g!!

The story was fast-paced and never I have encountered a dull moment. Each chapter has its own intensity that made me want to read more. True enough since I told myself to read just a few, maybe one or two chapters, then next thing I knew … I ended up reading from Chapter 1 to Chapter 11.

The characters are phenomenal. Penryn is a badass through and through. She’s never whiny and always unpredictable. I actually admired her for being able to focus on the goal and ignoring everything that stands in her way. A type of protagonist that I instantly fell in love with.

And Raffe … my darling Raffe. I was a little unsure about him at first. I didn’t know if he’s going to make it to the list of my book boyfriends. But then he said this:

“Can you keep it down? I’m trying to sleep.”

Believe me … there’s nothing sexy from this line. There’s no wink or smile that’ll make your mouth water, just a hint of irritation. But then he managed to capture my heart in just one line. Oh God, help me.

“My friends call me Wrath,” says Raffe. “My enemies call me Please Have Mercy. What’s your name, soldier boy?”

tumblr_m6te9jqbws1rnbh24o1_500.gif

Oh yes. I am totally fangirling right now. Also, reading about Penryn and Raffe made me look like this:

tumblr_nqb8bx3zgP1uwmptbo1_500

COME ON!!!! JUST GO KISS ALREADY AND MAKE THIRTY BABIES OR SOMETHING.

Okay so anyway, I could finish this book in one sitting. I definitely could just go and flip flip flip then done. However, it took me days to finish because I was afraid to read the ending. But I knew that stalling is inevitable … so I read chapter after chapter until I reached the page where it says “acknowledgments”.

The last parts had me in a roller coaster of emotions, one moment I’m so happy then the next was me bawling my eyes out. I still have a lot of questions so I’ll just go and read the next book.

But yeah, you get it. This book hit me with a lot of feels.

Overall reaction:

888.gif

ata

Susan eeSusan Ee is a USA Today bestselling author of the Penryn & the End of Days trilogy, ANGELFALL, WORLD AFTER, and END OF DAYS. Her books have been translated into over twenty languages, and her short films have played at major festivals. She used to be a lawyer but loves being a writer because it allows her imagination to bust out and go feral.

Sign up to hear about her next book at www.susanee.com or follow her on Twitter @Susan_Ee.

Leave a Reply

