The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

Title: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd
Author:
 Agatha Christie
Date Published: April 02, 2002
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN/13: 0007141343/9780007141340
Format: Paperback
Pages
: 304 pages
Status: Read from April 24 to 25, 2017
Goodreads’ Rating: 4.19
Buy it here: Amazon Book Depository • Barnes & Nobles

Rating: 5/5 Stars

gs

Roger Ackroyd was a man who knew too much.

He knew the woman he loved had poisoned her first husband. He knew someone was blackmailing her ― and now he knew she had taken her own life with a drug overdose.

Soon the evening post would let him know who the mystery blackmailer was. But Ackroyd was dead before he’d finished reading it ― stabbed through the neck where he sat in his study…

mt

I don’t know how to describe what’s the book all about since it’s pretty much given with the title and the synopsis. One thing for sure, this book is indeed one of the best works of Agatha Christie.

The book was told with Dr. James Sheppard’s point of view rather than Captain Hastings’ who narrated the first book, The Mysterious Affair at Styles. I liked Dr. Sheppard’s way of telling the events. It has a steady pace and I enjoyed every detail he laid out in front of me. But aside from that … let me tell you this, I really love Hercule Poirot. He’s so funny that I just want to squish his cheeks and have tea with him and he’ll tell me all of his detective stories. He makes reading this book more fun (not clearly the right word when someone is murdered) and challenging.

The other thing that amazed me was the gathering of evidence and asking for alibis. I looked for the truth beneath their words and actions. Still, everything is like a spider’s web. I was trapped to one of the red herrings and confident that I have all the facts on the case. Then when I was about to make my own deductions, when I’m 110% sure on who’s really the killer, Agatha Christie slapped me with the truth and that I’ve been following the wrong clues after all. Apparently, I did not use my little grey cells.

I was astounded, dumbfounded, stupefied, and every other synonym of the word. The ending was the true definition of “I did not see that coming” because I really did not see that coming. Mais oui, very clever. Thousand applause for you, Agatha Christie. Nonetheless, I was satisfied with how it ended and with how Hercule Poirot discussed the case.

As you’ve read above, I really did not talk that much about what’s inside the book because I don’t want it to spoil you. I want you to feel and experience Agatha Christie’s writing for yourself. We don’t want to lose the fun, do we?

Also, this is the type of book where you’ll be stunned for a few minutes then reread everything again from the start (because that’s what I did).

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS!!!

If you’re just starting to read Agatha Christie’s work, I recommend reading the first book since that is like the official introduction for Hercule Poirot. Or you could just go straight on this one and have your mind blown.

Overall reaction:

ata

Agatha Christie

Born in Torquay in 1890, Agatha Christie became, and remains, the best-selling novelist of all time.

She is best known for her 66 detective novels and 14 short story collections, as well as the world’s longest-running play – The Mousetrap. Her books have sold over a billion copies in the English language and a billion in translation.

One thought on “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

  1. Hi 🙂

    My name is Shaun and I’m an author, just wondering if you consider reviewing books, in exchange for a free ebook copy?

    Here is a link to my novel (Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith) on amazon, so you can have a look and decide if it may or may not be something you would be interested in reading – http://amzn.eu/6FjYTA3

    Thanks for taking the time to consider my enquiry, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Shaun

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

