Our Last Night by Taylor Adams

Title: Our Last Night
Author:
 Taylor Adams
Date Published: November 21, 2015
Publisher: Joffe Books
ISBN: B016AH4GVU
Format: Kindle Edition
Pages
: 254 pages
Status: Read from January 12 to 13, 2017
Goodreads’ Rating: 4.04
Buy it here: Amazon • Book Depository • Barnes & Nobles

Rating: 5/5 Stars

gs

Sometimes you have to go backwards to go forwards.

Dan is a professional ghost hunter who’s never actually found a ghost. But his newest case is promising: a cursed Russian rifle (allegedly) haunted by a demon. According to legend, anyone who touches the antique weapon dies within 24 hours. But for Dan, it’s personal — he’s still mourning the death of his fiancée Adelaide, and he’s desperate to find proof that spirits exist. At any cost.

As the clock ticks down, Dan’s paranormal investigation quickly twists into a mind-bending nightmare. He is stalked through time and memory by a terrifying (and very real) demon. And as for his lost love, Adelaide? She might be the only one who can save him . . .

mt

Thank you, Netgalley and Taylor Adams for providing me this book. It took me too long for the review but it’s better late than never, right?

One Last Night is about Dan, a ghost-hunter who have never seen a ghost! He badly wants to see one so he tracked and purchased a gun that when touched will shorten your lifespan into 24 hours. Well, he touched it. He’s desperate to see spirits now he’s desperate to survive.

This was such an amazing book! I was engrossed to read the book just because of its introduction. I LOVE everything in this book: the characters, the plot, the scenery, the writing. EVERYTHING.

The characters are great, especially Dan. I love his YOLO vibe. He’s basically YOLO-ing all throughout the book. I also dig his humor that is sometimes out of place. Like, we’re-about-to-die-but-I-really-need-to-make-a-joke. THE BEST. I was frightened but I cannot help but laugh at those scenes.

I can’t really say it’s visually pleasing because the scenes were terrifying! Like there would be a jump scare any moment. My heart was beating so fast. SO FAST! Oh my god. Not to mention the countdown. The freakin’ 24-hour countdown!

I have to admit, this was supposed to be a 4-star rating because of some dragging scenes. But since I loved how it made me feel enthralled and how it shocked me by how it ended, I gave it one more star.

This book is a perfect read for those who love thriller and some gory scenes and the freaking time traveling. Hmm. Yes. Oh, this book also has a love story that is not so cheesy.

Overall reaction:

raw.gif

ata

Taylor Adams directed the acclaimed short film And I Feel Fine in 2008 and graduated from Eastern Washington University with the Excellence in Screenwriting Award and the prestigious Edmund G. Yarwood Award. His directorial work has screened at the Seattle True Independent Film Festival and his writing has been featured on KAYU-TV’s Fox Life blog. He has worked in the film/television industry for several years and lives in Washington state.

Adams is the author of EYESHOT and OUR LAST NIGHT.

Leave a Reply

