Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Title: Six of Crows
Author:
 Leigh Bardugo
Date Published: September 29, 2015
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company
ISBN: 1627792120
Pages
: 465 pages
Status: Read from December 24 to 27, 2015
Goodreads’ Rating: 4.2
Buy it here: Amazon • Book Depository • Barnes & Nobles

Rating
sf_ratingsf_ratingsf_ratingsf_ratingsf_rating

aaKetterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

bbLet me start by saying how much I love Kaz.

tumblr_oirrniNBKz1vaigheo1_540.gif

It’s my first time reading a Leigh Bardugo novel. What caught my attention was the cover and its pages. I did not hesitate when I first saw the book and I am super glad that I did not hesitate. Because I LOVE KAZ Leigh Bardugo!

It was beyond beautiful. It took me three days to read it because I am absorbing every single word I can absorb. Every single character from the book has a role to play. I can’t even choose my favorite! BUT I’m very fond of Kaz (in case you didn’t notice). He is clever and I love the way he thinks. He is also the cause of my erratic heartbeat. HE. IS. SUCH. A. BABE. I swear to holy barrels that I love him so much that he still makes me smile whenever I say his name or whenever he crosses my mind (which is, by the way, all the time).

Kaz isn’t the only one I love, there are five others. Five others that I need you guys to know.

  • Inej, the one who knows about everything. She’s a shadow and she can blend in just a flick of a second. *swoosh and she’s gone*
  • Jesper, who made me laugh all throughout the book. He also put a hole in my heart because without him I would be incomplete. The book would be incomplete. It’s as if the Six of Crows is not complete without him. *bang bang bang*
  • Matthiew, the complicated brutally soft beast that made me feel a lot of emotions but mostly frustration. WHY CAN’T HE JUST …. *insert spoiler*
  • Nina, the beautiful Nina, who captured the heart of the beast. It’s just like Beauty and the Beast. *swwoooooonn*
  • And the adorable Wylan who did his best to help and to find his best way to fit in with the crew.

All in all, the crew is composed of six people. Six of them had a mission. An impossible one. A mission that if they done right, they will be free.

It was my first time reading a book with six POVs and I was shocked when I found out about it. I thought it would make my head bleed due to information overload, but it did not. Leigh Bardugo found a way on how readers would understand everything without losing a limb. Actually, Leigh Bardugo is not just a queen. She’s a barrel Goddess! How can she write a novel with six POVs anyway? She’s AMAZING. Hands down to this brilliant woman who wrote this amazing book.

tumblr_nt98psRjRb1s1wvswo1_500.gif

And before I could say more about Leigh Bardugo’s writing prowess, let me end this by saying how much I love Kaz. *rainbows rainbows rainbows* It’s been almost two months since I’ve read the book and I still have this feeling of giddiness. This book gave me a lot of feels! I cannot wait for the next book. Please September, come soon.

I highly recommend this to anyone who loves fantasy as much as I do.
I actually recommend this to everyone. READ THIS! R. E. A. D. THIS!

cc“No mourners. No funerals.”

“Scheming face.”

“Being angry at Kaz for being ruthless is like being angry at a stove for being hot.”

ddLeigh Bardugo is the #1 New York Times bestselling and USA Today bestselling author of Six of Crows, Crooked Kingdom and the Grisha Trilogy: Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising. She was born in Jerusalem, grew up in Los Angeles, graduated from Yale University, and has worked in advertising, journalism, and most recently, makeup and special effects. These days, she lives and writes in Hollywood where she can occasionally be heard singing with her band.

Visit her website here.

Leave a Reply

