Misunderstood – Secrets of a Teen Queen by Anya Valentino

Title: Misunderstood – Secrets of a Teen Queen
Author:
Anya Valentino
Date Published: July 21, 2015
Publisher: Anja Thielsen Valentino
ISBN13: 9788799839100
Pages
: 221 pages
Status: Read from October 20 to October 21, 2015
Goodreads’ Rating: 3.91

Rating
sf_ratingsf_ratingsf_ratingsf_rating

aa

 

Misunderstood tells the story of Enya Utzon – A real Teen Queen, who knows how to walk the talk. The novel begins by giving the reader an insight into her destined future as an A-list movie star, who allegedly has it all – Except true happiness and real love!

As the daughter of a successful and busy business couple, she’s used to being left to herself and having to handle everything on her own. That is with the exception of her trusted maid, personal assistant, beauty stylist, tennis and yoga-trainer, health coach and dietitian. Enya Utzon truly is a filthy-rich Teen Queen, who lives her life accordingly and with all the luxuries that come with being that. The only question that arises is: Does all of it really lead to true happiness?

In the story, you follow Enya in her in many ways privileged and exciting life struggling to find true love, and to be recognized by the one man that her heart desires. Only problem is; unlike everyone else, he won’t spare her a look!

Life becomes even more problematic for Enya, when she starts receiving a series of mysteries texts that delete themselves shorty after being read. Then other unpredictable things happen reminding her of a past that she’s been trying to suppress and hide for three years. Furthermore, clues here and there pop-up; and after being totally humiliated Enya is forced to take action and find out why these things are happening to her – and if they might have something to do with her shameful past. A past that now is back to haunt her present and she has to do everything within her power to handle it. Enya Utzon is a true Teen Queen after all – and is not prepared to loose that title, even if she at times wishes to escape her title and role in life!

 

bb

NOTE: The author, Anya Valentino, gave an eBook copy of her book in exchange of an honest review.

Beauty, brains, friends, money and fame. Enya Utzon has everything any teen would want in their life. She is crowned as the Teen Queen of Bel-Air High School. Everyone adores her, admires her, they look up to her. Sheez, I even liked her. But beneath those fabulousness is a misunderstood teen.

I really liked the idea of the book, perfect girl incapable of finding true happiness. On the first few chapters, I envied everything about her! Her mansion, freedom and amazing group of friends. Then at some point, I can relate to Enya, the way she laughed at her crush’s joke, even though it’s not funny. They way she was jealous when she found out that her crush is dating. I laughed hard when it comes to her reacting about her crush because it was totally me!!! But as the story goes on, I started to get irritated by the way she acted. She chose to keep the façade not because she doesn’t want to but because it’s what she’s used to. She was supposed to have a character development, not the other way around.

Somewhere in the middle, I had a hard time identifying whose POV it is. I wish they were some kind of indicator so I don’t need to guess who’s who. The mystery’s good but I wish they were more supplementary details to back it up. Nonetheless, I loved the book and the characters (especially Michael) because it made me feel a lot of emotion all at once. At first, I was happy, then irritated as hell to the point of almost screaming, then sadness creeps to me, then pity and then sympathy. The way the plot twists were introduced was a bit dull but it hit me like a bomb. BOOM! I was expecting it but I did not expect it to happen that way. I really don’t know what to feel because it felt like I was hit by an emotional roller coaster. This book is just … fabulous. I can totally imagine Rachel McAdams here. Fabulously mean.

I was in the middle of the worst reading slump when I read this and oh boy oh boy it did help me get out. I think it’s perfect when you’re looking for something light and easy to read. I also think that Anya did a good job writing her first book. Fabulous kisses for you.

 

 

cc

“I laughed even though I knew it wasn’t that funny.”

“And why shouldn’t you have fun in school? That’s what life’s all about after all.”

Leave a Reply

