Autumn Rising by Seth King

ar

Title: Autumn Rising
Author:
 Seth King
Date Published: July 22, 2015
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1515172171
Pages
: 114 pages
Status: Read from September 10-11, 2015
Goodreads’ Rating: 4.14
Buy it here: AMAZON

Rating
sf_ratingsf_ratingsf_ratingsf_rating

aa

Autumn Mahal and Hank Basara know they should stay away from each other. Both recovering from the loss of a mutual friend, and each bearing scars of their own, they know their love would look like a worn cliché, a trite romance novel for teens, some crappy made-for-TV movie languishing on your great aunt’s DVR. But as summer gives way to September and flirtation leads to something deeper, they learn there are some types of love you cannot run from, no matter how hard you try to flee.

bb

This book is written in third person. And I have a problem with books written in third person. I find it hard to connect to the characters and I find it hard to figure out what was happening. But there are books that can change my perspective about POVs, and this book is one of them. This book is easy to get used to. If I could relate to Summer, I could relate more to Autumn.

Autumn Rising is about Autumn, Summer’s best friend, and Hanks who was a member of Summer’s group. What’s the best way of coping up after losing someone you love? Find someone who experiences the same thing or find someone that could give you light even in the darkest of time. They both lost someone that day, but they also find something. And that is love. They are a bit opposite but that’s what makes them more perfect for each other.

When reading a good book, I get lost between the paragraphs and sometimes I skip a few lines just to know what will happen next. But with this novella, I found myself reading and absorbing each and every word. As always, Seth, being an amazing author that he is, wrote another book that will make you go crazy. He will make you feel hopeless, helpless and sad. It’s like someone ripped my heart out of my chest and leave it scattering on the floor. And just when I’m about to shatter, he will come, just like a ray of light, and will give you hope. It’s like he picked up my heart on the floor and put it back to my chest.

But for me to understand the book better, I asked Seth what’s the difference between a novel and a novella. According to him, a novel allows the authors to add more details, to describe every scene, to express every character’s emotions. While a novella is like adapting the book into a movie, they compress everything into a two-hour length movie. That explains why I got overwhelmed with tons of details that I sometimes wish there could be more conversation between Autumn and Hanks. I wish he just made this a novel with a thousand of pages so that I could have more Autumn and Hanks.

If you want something unique that has a little bit of humor, tears and lesson, this book is for you. Definitely perfect for you.

cc

“Books were friends. Books were there for you. Books were love, forever.”

“When you find someone who understands your pain, who looks into your eyes and sees what you are feeling, you don’t have to say anything. They know.”

Leave a Reply

