The Summer Remains by Seth King

tsr

Title: The Summer Remains
Author:
 Seth King
Date Published: January 5, 2016
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1508616531
Pages
: 334 pages
Status: Read from September 10-11, 2015
Goodreads’ Rating: 4.48
Buy it here: AMAZON

Rating:
sf_ratingsf_ratingsf_ratingsf_rating

aa

Twenty-four-year-old Summer Johnson knows two things. The first is that due to a quickly worsening medical condition, she faces a risky surgery in three months’ time that may or may not end in her death. The second is that she would like to fall in love before then.

As spring sinks into her namesake season on the Florida coastline, Summer plays the odds and downloads a new dating app – and after one intriguing message from a beautiful surfer named Cooper Nichols, it becomes clear that the story of what may be her last few months under the sun is about to be completely revised. All she has to do now is write something worth reading.

bbSeth, the author, gave me a soft copy of his book right after I messaged him on Instagram that I wanted to read the book, that I find it interesting.

Upon receiving the copy of the book, I read a first few lines and it instantly made me cry. You see, I have this soft spot for dying people. It makes me want to cry my heart out for them.

The book is written beautifully and every detail is described vividly. The book is not that hard to read and I felt myself connect to the book immediately. It’s as if I’m the lock and the book is the key and we matched perfectly!

The book is about Summer who wanted to have a normal summer on the beach and fall in love. She downloaded an app called Sparks (kind of similar to Tinder), a dating app, hoping to meet the guy she wants to fall in love with. Come on guys, the probability of finding someone who’s not an asshole in a dating app is around 0 percent! But Summer, being lucky that she is, found one! And it was Cooper, the handsome guy who wears flip flops for their first meeting.

I love the characters so much. I love Summer because she made me laugh even though my heart is already breaking. She’s so strong, so brave and she fought so hard. She’s beautiful, inside and out. She’s … She’s the type of character that you’ll love immediately. I also love Cooper. I love the way he loves Summer, the way he cares for her. I just love them! I just love the book so much!

This is the kind of book that will make want to hug it and cry. The book will make you think about life and what’s life after losing someone you love. It will make you contemplate about life. Then after a few minutes of contemplating about life, you’ll have to grab the book again and cry some more. So if you’re ready for an ugly crying, this book is perfect for you.

*here’s a box of Kleenex*

cc

“You’re beautiful and beautiful things don’t demand attention. It just gravitates to them.”

“We don’t get to choose how much time we get in this life, but we get to choose how we spend it.”

Leave a Reply

